The EMBL Alumni Association and its elected board members support the mission of EMBL's Alumni Relations programme and activities.

Board Members

Click here for the board member profiles.

To contact any of the board members please contact alumni@embl.org

Fatima Gebauer, Chair
Group Leader
Center for Genomic Regulation  (CRG)
PRBB Building, Barcelona, Spain
Board member since 2016

Christian Engel, Vice-Chair
Research Scientist
Sanofi-Aventis Deutschland GmbH
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Board member since 2016


Anne-Marie Glynn, Vice-Chair
Deputy Chief Operating Officer
Global Brain Health Institute
University of California, San Francisco, USA
| Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Board member since 2020

Annabel Goulding, Treasurer
Treasurer to the Meridian Society 
and Company Secretary to Tangent Films Ltd
London, UK
Board member since 2021

Julius Brennecke
Group Leader
IMBA Vienna
Vienna, Austria
Board member since 2016

Marina Chekulaeva
Group Leader, Berlin Institute for Medical Systems Biology
Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in the Helmholtz Association
Berlin, Germany
Board member since 2020

Mark Green
Retired in April 2018.  Currently Data Protection and Privacy Officer
Treasurer and Volunteer Transcriber Co-ordinator for the Hertford Oral History
Group member of the British Oral History Society, official photographer for
the Hertford Choral Society and digging weeds on the allotment.
Supporter of annual PDBe Art Exhibition.
Board member since 2020

Johanna Höög
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Gothenburg, Sweden
Board member since 2020

Anne-Sophie Huart
Scientist and Project Leader, ZoBio
Board member since 2020

Isabel Palacios
Lecturer, School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Queen Mary University of London, UK
(and Visitor, University of Cambridge, UK)
Board member since 2020

Ramesh Pillai
Professor, Department of Molecular Biology,
University of Geneva, Switzerland
Board member since 2020

Kai Simons
Founder and CEO, Lipotype and Emeritus Director
Max Planck Institute for Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics
Dresden, Germany
Board member since 2020

Britta Schläger, Deputy Treasurer
Head of kobris – company specialising in project management
Sandhausen, Germany
Board member since 2021

Ernst Hans Karl Stelzer
Professor, Physical Biology and Advanced Light Microscopy
and Dean of Studies, Goethe-University, Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Board member since 2020

Pavel Tomancak
Senior Research Group Leader, Max Planck Institute of Molecular
Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden, Germany
Board member since 2020

Erin Tranfield
Head of the Electron Microscopy Facility and Core Speaker of all Facilities
at the Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Oeiras, Portugal;
Co-chair of the European Space Agency Topical Team for
Celestial Dust Toxicity; and President-Elect of the Portuguese
Microscopy Society (2020-2021)
Board member since 2020